Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs to take part in the Warsaw Security Forum

01.10.2019. 21:15

On 2 October 2019, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Edgars Rinkēvičs, will take part in the annual Warsaw Security Forum. This year, the forum will be focused on the 70th anniversary of NATO and the anniversaries of several other important events, including the 15th and the 20th anniversaries since the countries of the region, including Latvia, joined the EU and NATO. Looking back at those events and their historical importance, the forum will consider further steps towards strengthening of Euro-Atlantic security.

Edgars Rinkēvičs will take part in a ministerial session titled “Three Seas: Central Europe’s Security in a World of Greater Complexity”, where he will discuss current challenges to the region with Jacek Czaputowicz, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland, and Vesna Pusič, Member of the Croatian Parliament, former Minister of Foreign and European Affairs. They will discuss preservation of a rules-based international order, joint action by the Allies to counter military challenges posed by Russia, and the promotion of business cooperation between the countries of the region.

The Three Seas Initiative and its geopolitical significance will be discussed in the context of building closer economic cooperation. Opinions and ideas will also be shared on the role of this initiative in the reinforcement of cohesion and transatlantic cooperation, as well as in promoting the region’s development and connectivity.

During the forum, the Minister will also deliver remarks at a thematic discussion on “Latvia and NATO: The Baltic States as part of the Eastern Flank”, where he will present Latvia’s contribution to the strengthening of collective defence, underlining the need for increasing the Alliance’s resilience in the face of current security challenges.

Background information

The Warsaw Security Forum has been convened annually since 2014 to promote understanding of European and NATO security policies through building a dialogue between policymakers and academia.

For further information about the forum, visit its website at

The Three Seas Initiative is a cooperation platform which includes 12 EU Member States: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia. The initiative was launched with the aim of providing political support for major regional projects in the energy, transport and digital communications sectors.

Slovenia hosted the Three Seas Initiative Summit on 5–6 June 2019. In 2020, the Summit will take place in Estonia.


Press Contacts:

Communications Group
Tel.: (+371) 67016 272
Fax: (+371) 67828 121
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow the Foreign Ministry:   twtr    icon-facebook    icon-flickr    ytb